Confession of a Prideful One

    Let me start with this. It’s my birthday.

    Oh yes, It was my birthday last year (October 8, 2014) when a friend of mine and I had a conversation that ends up to a quarrel. I wouldn’t elaborate it furthermore, but what I think, personally, the reason why we quarrel is just because of misunderstanding. She has her point and I have mine, we’re like arrow who’s really trying to strike each other with our own words. Sadly, what I hate about it is that we can’t hear each other side, I mean, I don’t hate my friend, I just hate the situation and can’t accept the fact that we didn’t understand what we’re really talking about. It’s actually about schedule (that hectic schedule). So because I can’t take the situation anymore, I walked out (from the school) and go on my way home. Then it take a lot of hours to realize how immature I am. And yes, it takes time to admit that I let pride arouse rather than love. And then a familiar bible verse pop-up in my mind,

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.”

     Boom! So definitely, I cried out to God and ask for forgiveness. I really thank God for rebuking me and melting my pride. I’m the type of person who don’t approach first whenever I had a quarrel with others, instead I let the other one to approach me especially when I know I’m right. That’s how prideful I am and that’s what I am before but God changed my heart and still keep changing my heart so I will never be the same again. That’s why I really thank Him for he changes me the way I never expect. He touches my heart at the very best moment. God taught me to love myself but more on to love Him more through loving other people no matter who they are.  God told me to choose the good relationship with my friend rather than to be right. And yes, it’s better to be kind than to be right, because truly love is kind. (1 Corinthians 10:4)

     Two reasons why I’ve shared this story of mine. First, I know somehow many people encounter or will encounter situation like mine, and just a friendly reminder, choose the relationship than to tell yourself you are right. It’s good to be right but it’s better to be kind. The second one, I just want to share the  abundant love of God that I’m experiencing. Without his love, this whole thing is nothing. I just want you to know that God’s love changes us that we will never be the same again. He turns our tears into laughter, wrath into peace, and even our sorrow into joy (the happiness that nobody can steal because it came from God). So before I end this post, I want you to leave a passage from Proverbs 11:2 saying,“When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom.” So I pray to each and everyone of us that whenever we will encounter an argument/s with someone especially with our love ones, may our love for them prevails no matter what.

P.S.

        I’ve already settled that issue with my friend (she’s actually my best friend) the other day. We’re okay as if nothing happens, and the funny thing is that, what happened doesn’t matter to her. Not a big deal at all. And that’s what really friends are for. Willing to forgive, but willing to love you more!!!!

Photo (c) TwoGirls

Leave a Reply

