Running the Race

     Do you love running, or should I say do you like running? Are you running at all? If yes, may I ask you, what are you running for?

     I like running, I like playing running with other kids when I was a child, being ahead to them make me feels good, being on top of the race makes me feel better. But you know what, I don’t love running at all, it’s just I run because I want to compete with somebody. When i won, i feel great, when i lose, it’s okay, whether i win or lose, it doesn’t matter at all. Growing up, I still see running as an act of exerting effort to release my body fats, just for the sake of my body to be fit. Running as an act of escaping from something or from someone else. Running as an act of just passing by and cutting the finish line. I run but I don’t have the passion on it… until I’ve realized that I have something to run for where I need passion just to finish it well… the so-called L-I-F-E.

     Hebrews 12 reminded us to run our race (life) with perseverance..

“As for us, we have this large crowd of witnesses around us. So then, let us rid ourselves of everything that gets in the way, and of the sin which holds on to us so tightly, and let us run with determination the race that lies before us. Let us keep our eyes fixed on Jesus, on whom our faith depends from beginning to end. He did not give up because of the cross! On the contrary, because of the joy that was waiting for him, he thought nothing of the disgrace of dying on the cross, and he is now seated at the right side of God’s throne. Think of what he went through; how he put up with so much hatred from sinners! So do not let yourselves become discouraged and give up.”-Hebrews 12:1-3

     In the race we called life, to start well is not enough. We must finish well, too. Never allow a difficult situation, a wounded heart, a failed dream, or a broken family to stop you from becoming the person God wants you to be. I may say that I don’t love running literally, but running my own race takes love, perseverance and passion to finish it well. Start running our own race seems so hard, but let’s always be reminded that taking the first step is just the beginning of stepping towards our success. We must be able to finish it despite of struggles and hindrance we will encounter, be reminded that there’s always victory ahead of us, and most important, when we start and before we finish the race, we must  be able to enjoy what we’re running for. Sometimes, the problem with other people is that they’ve started and end their race without even realizing that enjoying in the middle of the race is the most important of it. Some of us run alone without even realizing that we can run with others, most especially with the One who gave us the privilege to run, God. Let’s start our race with God, finish it well with Him, and most especially, enjoy it with Him and only for Him.

     We have different race and different roads where we run, but one thing i’m sure is that we will end up in the same finish line. And when we reach that line, may we have the same declaration of Apostle Paul, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”

     Start, Finish.. and don’t ever forget to enjoy running the race with Jesus! ♥

Leave a Reply

